Some New Paradise

Laying on my back, I gaze upon the universe in all her brilliant beauty.  Millions of worlds look back at me.  Vibrant hues illuminate the calm island waters.  Starlight bounces playfully off the night-time glow.  A soft breeze rustles grains of sand across the tops of my feet.  A tear crosses my temple, sinking into the sand.  The wind, the likely cause (or so I tell myself).

Staring continually into the midnight black, I see a flicker in the great distance.  A subtle flash brightens the sky momentarily.  It appears as if a star has fallen, and has begun to ascend on this island.

Drifting down to me, as if on a cloud; I wait hastily.

“Is this another?” I wonder.

The object continues its elegant, almost tranquil descent.

Frozen, I cannot move.  I use my eyes to look in the direction of the now landed craft.  Something emerges.  My watery eyes, too blurry to see.

Still frozen.

A calmness follows the being.  As if casting an aura.  It lays down beside me, and gazes into the open wonderment of space.  I try to speak, but cannot.

“I can hear you,” it says.  “What is this place?”

“We take the things that we love, and we build on them.” I reply.

“Are more to come to your world?” It questions.

“This isn’t my world, just how I perceive it.”

Before I can answer more of this creatures questions, or ask my own, a force pulls me upward.  Feels as if a hand has wrapped me in its fist.  My limbs tangle helplessly.

“Stop! I have so many questions!” I shout skyward.

My vision blurs more.  Stars duplicate as the force pulls harder and faster.  Blurred vision and a heavy head overcome me.

“But, my paradise…”

via Daily Prompt: Recreate

Image courtesy Z Design

5 thoughts on “Some New Paradise

  1. jaysquires says:

    Aside from a few punctuation and grammatical glitches, I loved the way your story progressed from a poetically evocative beginning to a hint of a problem (with his tear that he tries to mislead himself about), followed by the dramatic moment when the Alien becomes a power to overcome or to submit loyalty to.

    Liked by 2 people

      • jaysquires says:

        A blog is no place to seek to correct one’s grammar or punctuation, which is the reason I mentioned in only in passing. That said, I’m a believer in never going out on the stage barefoot when the audience is expecting me to tap dance. Metal taps are my tap dancing tools.

        On the other hand, your readers are not going to be blinded by a miscue; they are going to dazzled by your message and your framing of words to express it. I was.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

