Development Sun… Tuesday (Again)

Time flies.  When I look at my clock and see Sunday, I feel like I blink and it becomes Tuesday.

I thought I would post a bit of a ‘life update’.  As some readers know, I try to write a small prompt every day, while working on longer short stories come the weekend.  Over the past couple of weeks, I have become incredibly busy.  Even on days that are a bit slower, I find myself thinking so much about the future, and what I must do (tomorrow, the day after, next week) that by the time I can slow down and think a bit, it’s 10:00PM and all I want to do is curl up in bed and get some rest.

I’ve spent the majority of my day looking for work, and for anyone who is familiar with a job search you know just how taxing it can be.  Every job needs a new resume, and a cover letter that reflects said resume.  This in itself can take upwards of a couple of hours, just to apply for one job. Do 5 a day, and you’re exhausted.  I always throw an hour or so in there for myself to give my brain a break, and hit the gym.

Now that I have found work, I moved into phase 2.  I registered for my future career, something I intend to do for the next 30 years.  I’ve spent 15+ years trying to figure out what that was! Now that I have it sorted… I got wait listed.  Waitlisted for one year.  So, I decided to take something else while I wait.  I will be completing two trades, with a couple of weeks of over lap.  Three hours a day on the bus to campus, 8 hours of work, 1 hour of gym, 3-4 hours of homework, and somewhere in there I will be working at the job I just landed.

All of this was quite taxing on my brain, keeping me up at night, making decisions, filing paper work and taking assessment tests.  The last thing on my mind, was writing.

Over the next several months, there may only be one small story a week.  I would love to continue to write every day, but I simply do not have the time.  For me, thinking of a 500 word short story every day, takes time.  What only takes 15 minutes to write and revise, sometimes takes an hour of planning.

I hope all of you are well, are having continued success with your blogs and life, and I will do my best to continue posting when I can.

Jacobs, out.

6 thoughts on “Development Sun… Tuesday (Again)

  1. Lisa Ralph, Cries from an unkempt garden says:

    Hey man my best to you! Sounds like life is taking off. You were actually on my mind as I saw nothing pop up. I know we don’t know one another, but I have grown to admire you as a writer. Your photography is incredible. You helped me keep going, stating you usually don’t go for religious readings, but you read and liked my posts for the most part. I honestly wish I could say my life was as filled as yours. You said you hate jealousy most, so I am not jealous. Just can’t wait until I can send the same post out. Been out of work with my Epilepsy since July of last year. So not my style either. So listen Mark, best wishes in your future, go make you mark Mark. I will always be in wonder of your birth name. God bless you, you have inspired me in this commnunity. Take care man, Lisa
    Afterthought your daily presence will be missed. ✌🌞📷

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mark Jacobs says:

      Hey Lisa. That is probably one of the nicest things someone has ever said to me. I’m humbled by your words. I try to only follow blogs I am interested in, which makes it easier to read and interact with people. Following for a follow gets quite clutter some. I feel this way it is more personal. I hope you continue to power through the ordeal you are going through (or 2, 3, 4, whatever it may be) and come out stronger on the other side.

      I will do my best to keep writing as often as I can, as its great practice and I love to do it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lisa Ralph, Cries from an unkempt garden says:

        Dude, you so got all this and more going for you. Your life is waiting for you out that door. I am so happy to be part in one of the nicest things ever said to you. I hope you happen upon it all the more 😄. I stepped out this afternoon in faith for a job I accepted in January. Then my Epilepsy freaked out and I had to decline. Ran into one of the owners who interviewed me in town, he said if you get your health under control and we are still hiring come back. Well I look all the time and nothing. Then it posted again this evening for the first time. So I went for it. Eeek. Huge step, but I just may go crazy another day in the house. It is close enough I could walk. So I will be hoping it pans out. If not it was not meant for now.

        I will be on the look out for your writing popping up in my reads. Thank you for your kind words, and I will always wish you the best. It has been fun to know bits about you. Peace out, Lisa ✌

        Like

  2. Nel says:

    Thanks for the update! Was wondering where you went off to! Thanks for continuing to post whenever you can and best of luck to you in your future endeavors! Hope all your dreams come true! 😁

    Like

  3. Jade says:

    Yay, all the best for your career, Mark! I’ve also recently started my new job, so I’m feeling the same way. Such a shame there aren’t more hours in a day. That said, one story a week is totally fine. Quality over quantity, I say. I’d read what I can get, and continue to be inspired by your fantastic photography/stories! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. FULLSPECTRA says:

    Your readers will still be here when you can make it, Mark. Do what you have to and, the very best of luck to you. We’ll still be here for more of your talents when you’re back in swing. All the best, my friend. 🙏 R.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

