Hello Darkness My Old Friend

I haven’t been this hung over in years.  The older I get, the worse it becomes.  Today I had an intimate encounter with the toilet.  My plan to ‘eat healthy’ before bed seemed not to matter, as I managed to paint my bathroom with quinoa.

The world spins as you try to go about your day-to-day.  Move your head a bit to the left or right, and you are met with a slight delay and blurred vision.  Clouds linger in your brain, your stomach churns, your eyes dilate and glaze over.  Spider veins cover the little remaining white you have in your eye.

Call in sick for work, check.  Gatorade, check.  Pizza, check.  Responsibilities thrown out the window because acting like a child is easier, check.

I bring my blankets up to my face, covering my head.  “Common Ibuprofen start working!” I can feel the migraine coming.  After all these years I seem to forget, that for 3 hours of fun I get 1 to 3 days of pain.  You can’t erase todays problems, or tomorrows fears.

I took a cold shower and downed supplements, but it didn’t help.  What a waste of a day.  The only plus side? I have an excuse for sitting on the couch all day watching Netflix.

Maybe next time I’ll make better decisions.

via Daily Prompt: Better

From the author: Complete fiction.  Today I went to a book drive and stocked up!

6 thoughts on “Hello Darkness My Old Friend

    • Mark Jacobs says:

      Since I always try and do the word of the day, I wanted to get something out before bed. I had such a busy day, that by the time I sat down to write it was already 10pm. This was the first thing that came to me when I saw the word ‘better.’ Then I promptly fell asleep.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lisa Ralph, Cries from an unkempt garden says:

        Me too. Now two days off! Setting words aside. Putting a Badmitten set up today, and Gaurdians of the Galaxy, for all this I will set words aside. Oh yeah and laying tile, we know how to kick it on my husbands days off ✌. Anyways 2 days no word prompts. Until we meet again, wordpress style. Peace out!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Honest K says:

    Oh dear! I feel you! I couldn’t make work during the week as I was so sick. I never throw up but man live I was going for it! Couldn’t even keep water down, I genuinely thought that was it for me. The end! I’m convinced I ate something dodgy, can’t possible be that hungover on 5 drinks!!! To add to the same my 20 month old popped her ready round while I was having a conversation with the loo and asked ‘you ok?’ 😑 terrible parent. Especially when I made her hold my hair back….jokes…😁

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

