The Amazon Fairy

A little bird brought me some new bookage!  I’m in the process of reviewing all of my past reads (well, most) so here are 5 new ones that will be coming to A3 over the next couple months.

I’m excited to start Brain On Fire, as I know most of us WP readers have thought it was intriguing.  Its also a continuation from my psychology phase (I have 2 psych. reviews scheduled for next week).

What are you reading this week?

Brain On Fire —

When twenty-four-year-old Susannah Cahalan woke up alone in a hospital room, strapped to her bed and unable to move or speak, she had no memory of how she’d gotten there. Days earlier, she had been on the threshold of a new, adult life: at the beginning of her first serious relationship and a promising career at a major New York newspaper. Now she was labeled violent, psychotic, a flight risk. What happened?

In a swift and breathtaking narrative, Cahalan tells the astonishing true story of her descent into madness, her family’s inspiring faith in her, and the lifesaving diagnosis that nearly didn’t happen.

You’re Not Sick, You’re Thirsty! Water: for Health, for Living, for Life —

Asthma, allergies, arthritis, hypertension, depression, headaches, diabetes, obesity, and MS. These are just some of the conditions and diseases that are caused by persistent dehydration. But there is a miracle solution that is readily available, all natural, and free: water.

My Stroke of Insight —

Jill Taylor was a 37-year-old Harvard-trained brain scientist when a blood vessel exploded in her brain. Through the eyes of a curious scientist, she watched her mind deteriorate whereby she could not walk, talk, read, write, or recall any of her life. Because of her understanding of the brain, her respect for the cells in her body, and an amazing mother, Jill completely recovered. In My Stroke of Insight, she shares her recommendations for recovery and the insight she gained into the unique functions of the two halves of her brain. When she lost the skills of her left brain, her consciousness shifted away from normal reality where she felt “at one with the universe.” Taylor helps others not only rebuild their brains from trauma, but helps those of us with normal brains better understand how we can consciously influence the neural circuitry underlying what we think, how we feel and how we react to life’s circumstances.

Outliers —

In this stunning new book, Malcolm Gladwell takes us on an intellectual journey through the world of “outliers”–the best and the brightest, the most famous and the most successful. He asks the question: what makes high-achievers different?

His answer is that we pay too much attention to what successful people are like, and too little attention to where they are from: that is, their culture, their family, their generation, and the idiosyncratic experiences of their upbringing. Along the way he explains the secrets of software billionaires, what it takes to be a great soccer player, why Asians are good at math, and what made the Beatles the greatest rock band.

The Man Without a Face: The Unlikely Rise of Vladamir Putin —

The Man Without a Face is the chilling account of how a low- level, small-minded KGB operative ascended to the Russian presidency and, in an astonishingly short time, destroyed years of progress and made his country once more a threat to her own people and to the world.

Handpicked as a successor by the “family” surrounding an ailing and increasingly unpopular Boris Yeltsin, Vladimir Putin seemed like a perfect choice for the oligarchy to shape according to its own designs. Suddenly the boy who had stood in the shadows, dreaming of ruling the world, was a public figure, and his popularity soared. Russia and an infatuated West were determined to see the progressive leader of their dreams, even as he seized control of media, sent political rivals and critics into exile or to the grave, and smashed the country’s fragile electoral system, concentrating power in the hands of his cronies.

7 thoughts on “The Amazon Fairy

  1. Lisa Ralph, Cries from an unkempt garden says:

    The Amazon Fairy is the best, but most likely rocking a different outfit than that of the Tooth Fairy! Interestingly enough, I had to do an Essay in my English 101 class on Outliers. I Aced it!! I went back to school at 40. All English, and creative writing classes. Books are the best gift that one can recieve. Nothing like a good read, Enjoy!!

    Liked by 3 people

      • Lisa Ralph, Cries from an unkempt garden says:

        Yeah they pulled me aside because the security officers knew me all to well because of tending to my seizures. We decided at that time it was in my best interest to step away.😞. I thought I was like the cool kid being on a first name basis with the security at school. Lol. You though are most likely many a year younger than I. Maybe I will go back yet. I am now mulling over that book, Water. Up here everyone is natural pathic in medicine, and I am forced that direction being allergic to every medication under the sun. Maybe it is all about Water. I am willing to try anything to help my Epilepsy at this point. Always up for a good new read…Sweet!!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Nel says:

        I know that feeling well! That always happens to me too! Right when I start a book, which Im very involved in, another book comes out or something new pops up in my Goodreads list and I want to drop everything and read it! Then I feel bad cause I end up speed reading almost because I hate leaving a genuinely good book unfinished.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

