My Trusty International Travel Companion

In 2015, I decided I needed to escape. Not a change, an escape.  I couldn’t think of many reasons to stay where I was.  I wanted to experience something new, I wanted to get out of a cold climate and into a warm one.  Essentially, I needed a fresh, new, everything. 

I’ve always put off seeing other parts of the world.  Fear of costs, losing your belongings, unknowns of travelling abroad but also returning home.  I had a million reasons not to go, but there was no better time than right now.

As I began selling everything I owned, cancelling communication services, getting the necessary paper work together and putting in notice at work, I realized how much stuff I wouldn’t be able to take with me.  Even though that’s the whole point, and besides my laptop, I thought “Wait, my books!”

How would I be able to transfer my library over seas? I looked at options, and the cost was astronomical.  Even shipping it by sea over the course of 2 months (because shipping is by weight) was an impossible task.

I stored things I couldn’t sell, or didn’t want to, at a friend’s house.  That’s when he showed me his Kindle.  I knew e-reading many years ago was “the latest craze” but I couldn’t get on board with not being able to feel my books, smell the pages, or immerse myself in them.  It took some getting used to, but I would have been lost without it.

I’ve amassed 48 books on it in the past year and a bit.  Considering I didn’t start reading heavily until a few years ago, I’m quite happy with that number.  Cold winters I tend to read more than on a beautiful summer day.

I do miss my paper back books, and when I return I will pick up them up again.  But the convenience was unparalleled.  It was also great at night when I had no light source close by, and even though a regular paper book requires no charging, I only plugged it in once every 6 weeks, and at the same time amassed more books.

What I do wish, is that for every regular book I purchased on Amazon, I got the free Kindle version.  I did have to buy several of my favourite reads again.  A digital copy has unlimited prints, it would be a nice addition to the cost of a new book.

It is also difficult to go back and read something again, as with a paper back we create mental images when we read of where something in a book was.  Makes skimming for information a breeze.

E-readers can be a sensitive topic, but I feel it doesn’t have to be.  To each their own, and whatever works for ya.

Off to the beach, with reader in hand …

4 thoughts on “My Trusty International Travel Companion

  1. reactionarytales says:

    I was the same way! It took a while to get into e-reading but now I can’t live without it. I still buy a paperbook, especially for the ebooks I’ve read and love, especially when it comes to indie authors, but I can’t imagine giving up my paper books. I’m glad you saved your books though and plan to return for them eventually 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

